Just one step at a time. Just one!

So here we are…working on that awesome 6 week plan.  How am I doing so far?  Well, I’m here to say that I’m a work in progress.  I’m sharing my journey with you because I don’t think I have anything to gain by keeping it all locked up inside myself.  I’m a force…so are you.  We can teach each other and learn from one another only if we share.  So, I share with you, and I hope that I can inspire a few of you to reach out and go after your hearts desire.  Ok, I’ve gotten slightly off track here, a little sentimental moment.

When I became a stay at home mom with a baby, I was extremely overwhelmed. I had no idea what the hell I was doing.  According to my spouse, I was doing everything wrong.  I didn’t want to be doing everything wrong.  I really wanted to do something right.  Spending hours and hours of cleaning my house didn’t sound appealing.  There had to be something out there that would work for me.  It seemed like it was all or nothing.  I needed something in between.

I found a site called Flylady.net.  What I liked about this site was that it gave me permission to NOT be perfect.  I learned that just doing little things really helped the bigger picture.  There were some things about it that still seemed overwhelming to me (like the never ending testimonial emails), but there is so much of it that I still put into practice.  The biggest one for me was setting the timer.  When I have a lot of work to do…like the whole damn house needs to be cleaned, I just set the timer for 15 mins.  I spend ONLY 15 mins in each room.  What it does is give me focus to just work, and permission to stop when time is up.  When the whole house needs to be done, I work for 45 mins, and give myself a break for the last 15 mins.  It’s amazing what you can get done.  It’s not perfect, but it is better.

It’s really about just starting somewhere.   When we look at the whole picture, it can be too overwhelming, and we become frozen.  If you just do one thing, you will feel better.   Write one letter, wash one sink full of dishes, sweep one room, read one email….Start somewhere, take one single step.   MLK said “you do not need to see the top of the stairs to take the first step” Just have a little faith, that by taking one step at a time, you will get to the top.

Leave a Reply

