There comes a time

“There comes a time when you have to stand up and shout:
This is me damn it! I look the way I look, think the way I think, feel the way I feel, love the way I love! I am a whole complex package. Take me… or leave me. Accept me – or walk away! Do not try to make me feel like less of a person, just because I don’t fit your idea of who I should be and don’t try to change me to fit your mold. If I need to change, I alone will make that decision.
When you are strong enough to love yourself 100%, good and bad – you will be amazed at the opportunities that life presents you.” Stacey Charter

This quote just makes me want to stand on top of my house and scream HELL YEAH!!  There is no peace to living your life as someone else’s idea.  I’ve been there…far too many years.  You know what it got me?  Depression. That’s no place for a person to be…let alone a parent caring for two little kids.

Living up to MY potential is where I need to be.  That’s where we all should be.  We should be surrounding ourselves with people who support us and nurture us…and we to them.  We need to give love acceptance and validation…to everyone around us.  In return, it what we can expect from those we keep close to us.  I nurture my kids and all their crazy ideas…cause you never know what they will be, but I want them to be happy.  I want them to be who they are and love what they love…because I love them so immensely that I can’t imagine anything else.

I’ve spent way to much of my life trying to please everyone around me.  Trying to be who they wanted me to be, instead of who I really was.  When I bit of me emerged, they would protest until that part shrunk back down.  It sucks.  For me and for them.  Cause when you deny who you really are…you are not happy.  You become depressed, you try to find ways to suppress your feelings with things that are no good for you.  You have crazy thoughts like running away from home…It’s not good.

Be who you are!  Express your passions and your feelings.  Let people see the real you and soak in every bit of love and light that emanates from you!  If you love to cook COOK…if you love to write WRITE…if you love to sing SING!!  You are doing a disservice to you and those around you when you hold back your true feelings.

The beauty of it all is that when you are genuine…you allow more goodness into your life.  You allow more people who appreciate those gifts to come.  If you stay locked up, you lock them out.

THIS IS ME DAMMIT!

Leave a Reply

