I won’t do regret…

Regret has no place in your life. Everything and I really do mean EVERYTHING that happens to us is important. You just can’t look back and say I wish I would have done that differently. You can however say I will do that differently next time.

I’ve had some really crappy shit happen in my life. At what point would I have like to change something I did, or said, or experienced?? If I wanted my life to be completely different I guess I could choose several times. Unfortunately, if I change something, it would change everything. That would mean that the good things I have now would not be a part of my life. I’m not willing to risk that.

I choose to look at every experience and say…what did I learn. If you can look honestly at any situation, you can find a lesson for yourself, about yourself….and that is a gift. There is no room for blame, only room for growth.

It’s the holidays and I tend to do a lot of thinking about how things could be different. The end of the year leading into the beginning of a new year is certainly a time to reflect. Reflection is good…regret is not. It has been said that growth comes from pain…if we are not experiencing life completely, we cannot grow.

I am not where I wanted to be…but I am so much farther along than I once was. Each moment that gives me a pang of hurt I’ve learned to look at with the desire for true understanding. Each time I have an opportunity to learn something about myself, something that needs a little more work.

So for all those experiences that were less than joyous I have to honor them by saying Thank You. We are about to say goodbye to another year. Another year of mistakes and accomplishments. Another year of laughter and tears. Another year of no regrets…only lessons.

Bring it on 2013…I’m ready to face you head on with a little more enlightenment.

Leave a Reply

