Truth

Most people don’t like the truth. They don’t tell it, to themselves or other people. They don’t want to hear it. People spend a lot of time avoiding the truth and making themselves miserable in the process…oh but they’ll tell you they are perfectly fine. I know this, cause I’ve done this, you can’t bullshit a bullshitter.

The truth will set you free.

Don’t believe me? Try it. Before you do, understand this…it isn’t pretty, and sometimes it hurts. However, the good thing is the pain doesn’t last as long as lying to yourself does. As soon as you are honest, I mean down and dirty to the core honest…the sharp pain you feel in the gut starts to slowly fade away. Day by day it becomes easier to let go of whatever garbage you’re holding on to in order to keep up the lie. Eventually you find yourself free and light and realize, well shit, that didn’t kill me after all.

I have a rule that I’ve cultivated and that seems to work very well for me. Once the question comes out of my mouth, I’m ready for the truth. Not the sugar coated shit that you think will make me feel better, but the honest truth. It means I’m ready to face whatever I’ve been hiding from. Truth is where you find your way to getting what you really really REALLY want. Let’s face it, we genuinely don’t want to be miserable, and when you’re not being honest, that’s usually how we feel, even if we aren’t willing to admit it. You know what I’m talking about…come on, we’ve all done it.

Right now, I’m feeling good. I got down and dirty with the shit that I’ve been trying to avoid, but that keeps smacking me right in the face. It’s not fun getting smacked in the face. So I turned inward, asked myself the question…and gave myself the answer. It didn’t kill me. Look, I’m still walking and talking and laughing and hey….I have a chance to get it right next time. Whew….

Truth. Stop fucking avoiding it.

2 thoughts on “Truth

Leave a Reply

