Blessings and opportunities

We have all had blessings and opportunities given to us.  Sometimes they are not so easy to see…sometimes we fail to see that what appears to be  a disaster is truly an opportunity in disguise.  We need time away from the event to see the blessing that it was, or maybe we need to have it shoved in our face over and over again before we are finally able to say “Hey, I’m glad that happened to me.”

When you lose your job.  You hated that job but still.  Yeah that sucks…but maybe it’s away for the Universe to get your ass pointed to a different direction that leads to a job that is more satisfying.  The boyfriend/girlfriend/spouse cheated on you.  Yes they were an undependable asshole and you were totally unhappy in the relationship but HEY, that sucks.  Well, maybe since you didn’t have the guts to walk away from a relationship that you weren’t happy in, the Universe decided it was time to give you a BIGGER reason to walk away.  Next thing you know your smiling more and laughing more and you’ve got a zest for living that you didn’t have before that shit happened.

Opportunities.  They look like work sometimes.  They look like something you would never in a million years expect.  Sometimes they are super duper tiny and sometimes they come as a huge punch in the jaw that lays you out flat on the ground.  Thye come dressed in different ways and from directions that sometimes seem stupid.  It’s that mindset that keeps us for seeing their true potential. We are not adverse to having opportunities handed to us…I bet most of us “pray” for them all the time.  We ask, Please please make this job better, make him love me, make my bills go away.  We ask…and then wait for the answer to come exactly the way we imagined it, never realizing that it has come, in some cases many times, but it looked a little funny so we resisted.

I’m going to tell you that I know this is how it works.  I know this, because I have seen it in my own life time after time. There have been times I’ve turned my cheek to opportunities because I was afraid.  Times I’ve run the other direction because NO WAY was that shit meant for me.  Then there have been times where I’ve had enough of fighting, or resisting and I’ve allowed the Universe to work it’s magic…and I’ve been pleasantly surprised.  After that, it’s easier to accept, not that I don’t still put up a little resistance…cause, well, I’m stubborn like that.

The key to all of this is changing your perspective on how you see yourself, your life and the world around you.  You really do have to give up the doom and gloom,  poor me, nothing ever goes my way bullshit that you allow to swirl around in your head and sometimes vomit out of your mouth.  I know it’s hard…if you are over the age of 12 you’ve probably been questioning why me for a lot of years.  Breaking those kind of thinking habits isn’t easy.  It takes practice.  It takes guts.  It takes time.  You have to be willing to be gentle with yourself and work on it a lot.  Cause we know, these thoughts have made themselves nice and cozy in our little heads…and they aren’t going to leave quietly.

I’m having to deal with this right now myself.  Working through being thankful for the opportunity, that didn’t work, and allow myself to accept that it was a true blessing, even though it did not turn out the way I hoped.  It’s not easy, not one single bit.  It’s a work in progress and I work on it every single moment my mind wants to go “but if you only…”.  Shut up brain, you’ve been here before you know what it is and it’s time to embrace it (stupid head).  What I have learned is that each time, I come to it a little quicker.  Instantly would be nice.  Less heartbreak and sleepless nights would be wonderful.  Then again, it probably would, if I let it.  My gut, by big beautiful gut knew…and I resisted.  I resisted, and it took longer.

I don’t regret any of it.  The next time this particular lesson rolls around (and it will, it always does), it won’t take so long to accept.  There won’t be as much resistance…and eventually there will come a time when I won’t resist at all.  When that time comes, I’ll be ready for the result I have been hoping for all this time.

So, here’s my challenge to you (and to myself)…next time you find yourself saying “I didn’t ask for this shit”, ask yourself “or did I?”  Look at whatever it is and see it from a perspective of “this was meant for me.”  Challenge yourself to see what it has to offer you.  See if you can’t find the blessing.

All along it was a fever
A cold sweat hot-headed believer
I threw my hands in the air, said, “Show me something,”
He said, “If you dare, come a little closer.”

7 thoughts on “Blessings and opportunities

  1. I love this post. You have to see things that happen to you as opportunities. I’ve had a lot happen to me in the past year and all those things that happened have catapulted me to greatness! 🙂

Leave a Reply

