Interesting facts…so to speak

So the world of online dating has been a little quite for me.  I’m taking that as a sign, but not letting myself get discouraged.  There are a few things I have found to be rather interesting…if not a little disheartening. I’m not good at math…but I’ll try my best to give a clear picture.

Since December 1st there have been over 100 eligible bachelors (or some not so) who have been interested in meeting me.

Of those 100+ men, about 15% have actually looked at my profile.

This means that 85% of them like what they see.  I’m thinking it’s the picture with the giant animated hot dog that makes me seem like the right lady for them.

Of those that have messaged me after actually viewing my profile 40% just say Hi, 30% comment on what a beautiful woman I am (the actual adjective varies slightly), and 10% send incredible long messages that should basically be covered in their profile. The last 10% usually have only one line…usually “goodmorning” or “good evening” or “how is your day”.

I have messaged back 5. There is maybe 3 that would be interested in meeting.

I have sent messages to approximately 25 men.  My messages have varied. Sometimes I comment about their profile.  Occasionally I mention something we have in common.  Mostly I tell them I find what they have to say interesting and would be happy to get to know them better.

All of them view my profile the same day I message.  0% have messaged me back.

Yes, it’s a little bit of a buzz kill.  0% isn’t good odds.  I want to message them back and ask…hey, I know you’re not interested but could I ask Why?  Maybe there’s something about my profile that needs to change.  Maybe they don’t find me all that attractive (can’t change that) or maybe there is something else I’m not aware of.

Anyway…I guess I really have enough stuff to be dealing with at the moment.  Not the time to be trying to figure all that shit out.  Still…I wonder.

On a positive note…I haven’t gotten one single “Fuck me” message yet.  I guess in the grand scheme of things, that would be considered progress.

 

 

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Interesting facts…so to speak

  1. I’ve dated online a lot. That’s where 90% of my dates come from, and 100% of my relationships in the past 4 years. I get a lot of messages, most of whom I’m not interested in. It can be flattering on a superficial level and take up a lot of time. That being said, do you know how many men respond to me when I initiate contact? None! That’s why I never do anymore. Weird, I know, but also true. Glad to see I’m not the only one!

  2. I don’t get it…why don’t men respond? (same general responses here too-haha) Sometimes I wonder if I want the kind of guy that can’t handle an assertive woman! lol -but then at the same time, I do want a guy that will go out of his way for me…not that I have to ‘chase’…so maybe I should stop initiating too! hahaha
    Best of luck!

    1. It is obvious that I have no idea how to pick the “right” man for me. So, given that important revelation, I guess that I should lay off the initiating. We’ll see if any gems are found seeking me.

Leave a Reply

