Validation

One of the main reasons I go to counseling is because I’ve spent so much of my life being told I was wrong, being told I was the problem, that as an adult I often second guess myself.  I’ve learned that not everything is about me, and that when someone wants you to believe you are wrong, it has much more to do with them than you.  However…old patterns are hard to break.  So, like seeing Dr when you are sick, or an physical therapist when your body needs to get stronger, or a person trainer when you can’t get your sorry ass moving on your own, a counselor helps you sort out and rework the mental bullshit.

I spoke recently of a confrontation I had at work.  A confrontation that stirred up some very intense emotions. Standing there in that room with this person telling me not to speak, that he was the boss and how I was to remember that and do as I am told made me feel very uncomfortable, to say the least.  In the moment, I had an idea of what was happening, but I unfortunately got caught up in my own emotions. It was only well after that I could see it for what it really was.

He was bullying me.  By standing up and confronting me the way he did, he was trying to intimidate me.  It’s a horrible space to be in no matter who you are or what the circumstances.  The problem for me is that this has been such a common encounter for me that even now, I still wonder if I deserved it, if I was blowing it out of proportion…or if I was just being a big baby about the whole thing.  According to my counselor, no to all of it.  His actions towards me were disrespectful, unprofessional and he had no right to try to intimidate me.  I also have no reason to stay where anyone would make me feel this way.

I needed that validation.  Too often I beat myself up about the choices that I make. Believing that this is what I chose, so now I have to suck it up and take it.  Truth is, I don’t.  I need a job…most definitely.  I don’t need THIS job.  I don’t need to be anywhere I don’t feel comfortable.  As I wrap my head around that I begin to realize that I have options…I am by no means stuck where I am. Yes indeed it would be nice to have a better job offer in my hand, but I’m fortunate to have some money in the bank so I can pay my bills if need be…not indefinitely but until I that better job comes my way.

Don’t think this means I’m going to go in and give my notice tomorrow.  As much as I would like to. For the time being, I can bide my time, keep putting in those applications and collect a paycheck…all with the knowledge that I will no longer put up with the bullying.  For that matter, thank you Mr Bully boss for giving me an opportunity to grow just a little bit more. Thank you for showing me the kind of person you really are, and that you cannot beat me down.  You may think you have the upper hand here…but I know better.  Thank you also, to all the other paths I’ve taken that have allowed me to be in a position of, dare I say it, power…when there were times I felt completely powerless.

I needed validation.  Now that I’ve got that, I can pick myself up and push myself forward.  Stronger and with more confidence…one more step out of the box people have long since tried to keep me in.  Perhaps one day, I won’t have to step out of the box because I’ve learned not to be put in there in the first place.  Hmm….that a future this girl can really wrap her arms around.

Leave a Reply

